Croatia joins Schengen area and Eurozone

January 4, 2023 4:23 pm Published by

On January 1, 2023, Croatia became the 27th country of the Schengen area. Border and customs checks are abolished at the borders between Croatia and other Schengen members.  Furthermore, Croatia is now able to use the Schengen information system (SIS) and is able to issue Schengen visas. Finally, on 1 January 2023 Croatia also became a member of the Eurozone and adopted Euro instead of Croatian kuna, which has been the official currency since 1994.

Categorised in:

This post was written by Mila Rnjak